Provincial elections on Nov 26, federal on Dec 7

By A Staff Reporter


Kathmandu, Aug. 31:                                                   
Backtracking from its previous decision to hold the elections of the House of Representatives and provincial assemblies on a single date, the government on Wednesday decided to hold them in two phases on November 26 and December 7.
Prior to this, the government on August 21 had decided to hold both the elections in a single phase on November 26.
According to Minister for Information and Communications and the government spokesperson, Mohan Bahadur Basnet, the government decided to hold the first of the remaining two-tier elections on November 26 and the second one on December 7 as per the recommendation made by the Election Commission Nepal (ECN).
The government has decided to hold the elections to the provincial assemblies and the House of Representatives in two phases on November 26 and December 7, minister Basnet said.
Minister Basnet, however, said that a final decision was yet to be made regarding in which districts and provinces the first phase and the second phase polls will be conducted.
“We are yet to receive the final report from the Electoral Constituency Determination Commission (ECDC),” minister Basnet said.
“Issues of the provincial chief and capital will be resolved through a consensus among the political parties,” said Basnet.
Similarly, the Cabinet meeting on Wednesday decided to form a National Natural Resources and Finance Commission. Its chairman and other members will be recommended by the Constitutional Council.
The government also decided to accept a loan assistance of Rs. 15.48 billion, to be provided by the Asian Development Bank, for the improvement of the customs sector and its modernisation.
According to minister Basnet, the government decided to scrap some of the vacancies of the Senior Superintendent of Police (SSPs) at the Nepal Police Headquarters and add the vacancies of Deputy Inspectors General (DIGs).
In another decision, the Cabinet promoted Brigadier General Rajendra Karki of the Nepal Army to the post of Major General.
The government transferred secretary Krishna Raj Devkota to the Ministry of Supplies from the Ministry of Land Reforms while Secretary Shambhu Koirala has been transferred to the Land Reforms Ministry, Krishna Raj JC to the Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation and Maheshwor Neupane to the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation.
Three officers, including Huta Raj Thapa, have been promoted as investigative directors at the National Investigation Department (NID).

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds